Disaster Management Manual
A manual for practitioners and decision makers!

You are here Understanding disaster risk

Priority 1 of the Sendai Framework states that “Policies and practices for disaster risk management should be based on an understanding of disaster risk in all its dimensions of vulnerability, capacity, exposure of persons and assets, hazard characteristics and the environment. Such knowledge can be leveraged for the purpose of pre-disaster risk assessment, for prevention and mitigation and for the development and implementation of appropriate preparedness and effective response to disasters.” 1

Risk assessment is an important part of this priority. “New Zealand has developed their first national climate change risk assessment, helping the Government identify where it needs to prioritize action. The assessment:

  • Gives the first national picture of the risks New Zealand faces from climate change
  • Identifies 43 priority risks covering all aspects of life from ecosystems and communities to buildings and the financial system
  • Groups risks according to five value domains:
    1. natural environment
    2. human
    3. economy
    4. built environment
    5. governance
  • Identifies the 10 most significant risks that require urgent action in the next six years
  • Lays the foundation for a national adaptation plan which will outline New Zealand’s response to these risks.” 2

Figure New Zealand Risk Assessment Stages

Reference sources

No reference sources found.