Disaster Management Manual
A manual for practitioners and decision makers!

You are here

1.1.1 Hyogo Framework for Action

At the World Conference on Disaster Reduction held during January of 2005 in Kobe, Hyogo, Japan, a framework was adopted and presented as: Framework for Action 2005-2015: Building the Resilience of Nations and Communities to Disasters. During this conference, the Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) was adopted by 168 United Nation Member States and is the first plan to explain, describe and detail the work that is required from all different sectors and actors to reduce disaster losses.

The following five Priorities for Action were adopted:

Figure 1.1.1 Hyogo Framework Priorities for Action

Reference sources

No reference sources found.